Never be afraid to get dirty, but be sufficiently sure-footed to avoid the abyss of contamination.

Soaring

I was soaring yesterday. After lessons had me make small attempts to fly from a small hill and getting a couple feet off the ground, I was given the opportunity to go higher. For about five minutes, I had a pair of wings that, along with a small string and a thermal, helped get me 1000 feet into the air, looking around Tres Pinos, seeing a golf course, some houses, and plenty of fields.

I should also mention that I went in tandem with a professional hang glider, and I spent the enter time holding onto him, Ace-and-Gary-style. Apparently, the FAA regulations only allow one person per glider, but as we were told by the crew, this particular glider was specially designed and given an exemption. Launched up like a kite, the winds were pretty calm, and there was no rush or free fall sensation. Coasting next to eagles and hawks, it was almost serene.

Leave a Reply

