Never be afraid to get dirty, but be sufficiently sure-footed to avoid the abyss of contamination.

Write Something

I remember reading Better during a summer in Cambridge, MA, and a short phrase near the end stuck with me: “Write something.” I remember taking up that challenge and spending much of that summer interviewing people about what excited them, and putting that to blogger. Well, challenge is the wrong word. I like writing, whether it’s describing something I recently tried to understand, or something that has nothing to do with anything. That summer was personally satisfying because I was aiming my writing at something constructive, and it turned out to be a lot of fun.

This was a week of Write Something, particularly in my professional life, if not my personal one*. It’s offered a lot of clarity, and it’s been paying off both in terms of my productivity and personal satisfaction. I’m going to keep at it.

* For those of you whose e-mails I’ve seemingly been ignoring for weeks now, my bad. I tried to make a dent this evening!

Leave a Reply

