Never be afraid to get dirty, but be sufficiently sure-footed to avoid the abyss of contamination.

Complications

When my sister and I were still in elementary school, our mom spent a fair amount of time in the hospital for various medical procedures, including spinal surgery on her neck. In some cases, there were complications, which led to further hospital stays.

I spent some time today trying to remember what that experience must have been like as a child. I think our grandmother was staying with us during at least one of those episodes, but it was so long ago, I don’t really have a great recollection of everything that happened. Eventually, my mom recovered from these ordeals, and the events faded from my memory.

Leave a Reply

