Never be afraid to get dirty, but be sufficiently sure-footed to avoid the abyss of contamination.

The Roof is on Fire

I am quoting from an earlier post:

She who eats with her hands does not burn her mouth.

I took the specious statement at face value until this past weekend when I was given a slice of pizza fresh from the oven. I held the slice in my hand, which was warm but not hot, and took a bite. As it turned out, the bottom of the slice gave me no way to judge the amount of heat that would be generated by the steam that then began to condense on of the roof of my mouth. It was too late to do anything about it.

The consequences are rarely felt immediately. For me, the consequences were first felt the same night when I was holding a toothbrush in my hand. At this point, a dilemma presented itself: a thorough brushing, as recommend by the ADA, must include the gums to avoid gingivitis; on the other hand, after the events of the afternoon, brushing parts of my gums would only exacerbate the situation. I tried to have it both ways, resulting in an incomplete brushing that still managed to make the roof of my mouth feel worse.

When problems of this magnitude present themselves, there is only one solution: sleep on it and get back to it in the morning. This was kind of easy because I had just brushed my teeth, and I was already in my pajamas.

Upon waking, I was immediately face to face with the problem again. I picked up the toothbrush, but this time, I ignored the advice of the ADA and stuck with cleaning the solid, bonier parts of my mouth. Thus, I began the day feeling better about my roof, but somehow a little more self conscious about my breath. At least I didn’t have much to say.

The problem kind of sorted itself out after that, and my brushing is back to normal. This led me to my next problem: how to end this post.

Leave a Reply

