Never be afraid to get dirty, but be sufficiently sure-footed to avoid the abyss of contamination.

Dry Out

My wallet got soaked yesterday, so when I went into work this morning, I gutted it and took only a couple items that seemed important, like my driver’s license. By the time I came home, my wallet was mostly dry, so I decided to use it again for the evening, making sure to fill it with the dried out bills and credit cards that I had left on my desk in the morning. The evening required a change of attire, too, and it felt good to dress up to go out.

After the wardrobe change, it was time to drive. The roads were relatively clear and the rains had stopped, so the driving conditions were remarkably clear, with the exception of a little fog. I was also surprised by how easy it was to find parking in North Beach on a Friday night.

The fun began shortly after entry into 365 and crescendoed throughout the evening, as did the band that was playing. Despite the crescendo, it was eventually time to head back. It was only a couple minutes’ walk to return to the car, and the roads were clear. Despite a light drizzle and continued fog, it was a pleasant ride home.

The night had been long, though, and I was ready to crash. I just needed to get out of fancy clothes, so I started to undress. My first act in this process was to remove the wallet from my left pocket and place it on that side of my laptop. Then I looked on the opposite side of the laptop. It was my driver’s license and insurance card. Oops!

Okay, maybe one blog entry before bed.

Leave a Reply

