Never be afraid to get dirty, but be sufficiently sure-footed to avoid the abyss of contamination.

Stephen Fry and QI

My love affair with British television goes back to my days I started watching Keeping Up Appearances, Mr. Bean, and the Mystery series on PBS. However, it wasn’t until I started watching shows like Fawlty Towers and Blackadder that I became a real Britcom geek. The latter introduced me to Stephen Fry, and the appearances, alongside some random sketches from A Bit of Fry and Laurie, made it a little difficult for me to take him seriously. I guess that was kind of the point.

My impression from the clips I’ve seen of him as host of QI (Quite Interesting). The premise of the show is to ask questions so obscure that the panels– all comedians– get awarded points not on both correctness and creativity.

Perhaps it is because he has all the answers, but Fry has a commanding presence, and the show has an great feel to it. I hope the program makes it across the Atlantic. Here are a few of my favorites:

Stephen Fry puts Alan in his place

Alexander the Great

Most famous Alan

Leave a Reply

