Never be afraid to get dirty, but be sufficiently sure-footed to avoid the abyss of contamination.

Nina Simone

“My name is Peaches!” The melody of those lines haunt me, with “Peaches!” conjuring an image of fingernails screeching across a blackboard.

While I like both versions for different reasons, Kweli’s version of “Four Women” is smoother and ends on a slightly more optimistic note:

Maybe one day I’ll ride back to Georgia
On the train.
Folks ’round there call me Peaches
I guess that’s my name.

Leave a Reply

