Never be afraid to get dirty, but be sufficiently sure-footed to avoid the abyss of contamination.

The V Word

Maude Lebowski: Does the female form make you uncomfortable, Mr. Lebowski?
The Dude: Uh, is that what this is a picture of?
Maude Lebowski: In a sense, yes. My art has been commended as being strongly vaginal, which bothers some men. The word itself makes some men uncomfortable. Vagina.

No, not that one. My parents bought some bananas that I never had a chance to eat because I wasn’t at home much this past week, and today they had gone shades past yellow. It was time for banana nut bread. I would be out for the afternoon, so I decided I would just make it from whatever I had in the kitchen. There was only one problem: no eggs. With my mom’s recipe off limits, I had to search the Internet for an alternative, and I had to use the V word in my search.

I ended up with a vegan (that’s right, I said it!) recipe for banana nut bread from VegWeb.com, which I modified slightly to the recipe at the end of this post. Vegan recipes of this type are usually hit or miss, but this one ended up being moist enough when I tasted it. Incidentally, I finally realized what those brown lines are in banana nut bread: they’re the banana fibers!

Banana Nut Bread (Vegan)
4 ripe bananas (I had four instead of the recipe’s 3)
3 tablespoons olive oil (I forgot to grease the pans as the recipe called for, so I compensated by supplementing the batter with some additional olive oil)
2 cups flour
3/4 cup sugar
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 cup coarsely chopped walnuts

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Mix the mashed bananas and oil in a large bowl. Stir in the flour, vegan sugar, salt, and baking soda. Mix in the nuts. Pour the well blended batter into the pan and bake for an hour, or at half an hour, increase the heat to 400 degrees Fahrenheit and check with a toothpick every few minutes (I was running late). It should be done within 45 minutes. Remove and let cool.

Leave a Reply

