Never be afraid to get dirty, but be sufficiently sure-footed to avoid the abyss of contamination.

Weekend of Music

It’s Saturday afternoon when I take out my guitar. The songs come easier, and I wish I can play more, but I have somewhere to be.

I’m at a friend’s house that evening when I am shown the restrung guitar. After strumming some chords, a piano joins me. We’re having a jam session, complete with playing, singing, scatting, improvising, and laughing. We rock it for a while before switching instruments, and I get treated to a live performance.

An e-mail enters my inbox Sunday morning: John Legend! It’s the day of the concert, and by some stroke of randomness, an extra ticket makes it my way.

Before the concert comes my guitar lessons. While I have not reached the “next level,” as is obvious by my conscious effort to navigate the neck, I know what needs to be done to get there: more practice.

The evening arrives, and it’s concert time. The Mountain Winery provides a spectacular view of the landscape, and its amphitheater seating provides a direct view of JL. In addition to familiar favorites, songs like “Everybody Knows” help me discover new music. We also hear an opening set from– what was his name again? Ah, yes: Hal Linton.

The drive home includes a radio sing-along in the car. It turns out JL, who had the extra ticket to JL, had a musical weekend of her own. She had just returned from a Black Star concert:

1-2-3,
Mos Def and Talib Kweli
We came to rock it on to the tip top.
Best alliance in hip hop. Waiiiohhhh!

Leave a Reply

