Never be afraid to get dirty, but be sufficiently sure-footed to avoid the abyss of contamination.

Eternal Sunshine of a Spotless Drive

The days of my graduate e-mail and web account are nearing an end. In an effort to reduce storage costs for these services and redirect people to a new page, I spent the better part of the evening deleting content.

Deleting old e-mail (I backed them up a while ago) was kind of fun. I used the web interface, which only allowed me to delete twenty messages at a time from the “Sent” folder. It was interesting retracing my steps over six years via e-mail: all the ups, downs, and sideways with friends, family, and acquaintances who randomly popped into and out of my life.

It was also satisfying to see a number that had teetered close to 1 GB when the evening began read a much lighter 3 KB.

One response

  1. Rich

    Wow, how did you manage to do that? I have trouble managing my e-mail accounts and deleting messages. I seem to be constantly hitting quota at work.

    July 9, 2010 at 6:30 pm

Leave a Reply

