Never be afraid to get dirty, but be sufficiently sure-footed to avoid the abyss of contamination.

Acoustic Layla

What do you do when you get lonely?
No one waiting by your side.
You’ve been running, hiding much too long.
You know it’s just your foolish pride.

At some time in March, I called my mother to see if she still had my old clarinet. I had been thinking about starting it up again. Her response suggested that might require a bit more effort on my part. Apparently, I had told her a couple years earlier that I didn’t need it anymore, so it was now with a cousin. She wanted to know if she should ask for it back. Embarrassed, I responded with an emphatic no, or perhaps multiple semi-emphatic “no”s, as in “Oh, no no no no. That’s fine. It’s not that important.”

A few minutes later, I found myself walking into a music store on The Haight and noticed they were selling a clarinet. I briefly contemplated an impulse buy but decided to give myself a day to think about it. Back in my apartment, I noticed that a different instrument was catching some dust. I little to no experience playing it, so a few hours later, I picked up the phone to call the Sunset Academy of Music.

My first lesson was on April 11th. Things moved slowly at first, but with the help of V and practice, I have been getting the hang of The Roots’s “The Seed (2.0)”, State Radio’s “The Diner Song”, and most recently Vampire Weekend’s “Cape Cod Kwassa Kwassa”.

It was time to learn a new song today. V started going through a mix-tape I had made and kept skipping tracks. Too hard for me? I thought to myself but kept quiet. Then he looked over at me.

“You said you wanted to learn acoustic ‘Layla’ at some point, right?”

I smiled and confirmed. He proceeded to teach me the intro to the song.

Leave a Reply

