Never be afraid to get dirty, but be sufficiently sure-footed to avoid the abyss of contamination.

Fahrenheit 325

My most recent experiments in the kitchen have been mixed. Most recently, I made a tomato-garlic-ginger-basil pasta sauce, only to realize it tasted best when the amount of garlic and basil overwhelmed the ginger. Today, I decided to try out an old recipe, originally introduced from Julia’s kitchen to Solano Ave and after today, across the Bay to San Francisco. I am speaking, of course, about granola bars! This is straight from Julia’s recipe (reprinted with permission):

3 cups of rolled oats.
2 cups of any chopped nuts (I use 2 of walnuts, pecans, almonds)
1 cup of raisins
1 cup of semisweet chocolate chips (+ a bit)
1 can of sweetened condensed milk
1/2 a cup of oil (canola) or melted butter

Preheat oven to 325 F. Line an approx 15×10 inch pan w/ foil or parchment paper. Mix all ingredients in a large bowl. Press evenly into the pan. Bake 25-30 min or until golden brown.

Cool slightly; remove from pan & cut into bars.

I’ve made one substitution in this recipe: olive instead of canola. I guess that makes this an experiment, too. Hopefully it fares better than the previous ones.

2 responses

  1. Julia

    Hi Krish! I’m glad to see that you are still making this recipe! Yay granola bars!
    It may be making an appearance on my blog too… Alex and I just started a food blog (I love food blogs and we love food, and so we decided to take the plunge)… Check it out:
    http://foodandtheabstracttruth.wordpress.com/

    July 16, 2010 at 5:21 pm

  2. K

    Hi Julia! I love your granola bars, and I love your blog. Mmm… ginger cake! Can’t wait to try it out. And you’ve got me singing to Dorie Greenspan, too.

    July 17, 2010 at 4:57 am

Leave a Reply

