Never be afraid to get dirty, but be sufficiently sure-footed to avoid the abyss of contamination.

Sunshine

This post may make me look like a bad person, and I accept that.

I have a lot of respect for Bob Marley, but despite it’s peachy lyrics, “Sun Is Shining” sounds kind of depressing.

It was the end of September in 2009. The sun was shining even though temperatures had dropped below 98 degrees. Well, at least for me, anyway. My sister had recently purchased 98 Degrees and Rising, and the insecure teenage boy that I was, I wouldn’t let myself like it. Of course, I would allow myself to like her Les Mis recordings, but that is another story for another time.

Anyway, the end of September was also a week before my sister’s birthday, so my cousin called me up to find out if I had any gift suggestions for my sister. In particular, she was interested in finding out what music my sister might like. I knew the right answer would be some mix of N*SYNC, Backstreet Boys, and 98 Degrees, but I thought I would be doing a favor to myself and others by suggesting the least objectionable music. I suggested Smash Mouth and Len. It turned out my sister did not like either of these albums, and once she discovered I was the one who suggested them, she accused me of being selfish.

I was being selfish, and eleven years later, both of these albums remain with me, and there is still lingering guilt. I don’t mean that in a metaphoric sense: they are on a shelf in the apartment where I currently live. Funnier still, I haven’t listened to either since college.

Sun is shining; the weather is sweet. I am not moving my dancing feet. Strikes and gutters. Sometimes the bear eats you. They’re spinning in my head as I try with mixed success to channel my inner Dude. I walk into the grocery store to buy some items for brunch, and music from the Len album is playing. Despite its mentions of stolen sunshine, it somehow improves my mood:

I was lying on the grass on Sunday morning of last week,
Indulging in my self defeats.
My mind was thugged, all laced and bugged, all twisted round and beat,
uncomfortable at three-feet deep.
Now the fuzzy stare from not being there on a confusing morning week
Impaired my tribal lunar-speak.
And of course you can’t become if you only say what you would have done,
So i missed a million miles of fun.

2 responses

  1. Rich

    If this post makes you sound like a bad person, I must be Satan reincarnated.

    April 20, 2010 at 9:35 pm

  2. K

    I never pegged you as a Satanic figure, but then again, I never pegged you as the first in our group to be getting married. šŸ˜›

    April 23, 2010 at 6:20 am

Leave a Reply

