Never be afraid to get dirty, but be sufficiently sure-footed to avoid the abyss of contamination.

Kale Curry

I first met The Picky Eater and her husband at a party almost six months ago. Not long thereafter, I started subscribing to her blog, which contains recipes for a wide variety of healthy dishes along with photos of how they should look. The photos double as ads for healthy cooking. If you don’t believe me, check out her entry on Cashew Curry with Veggies and Tofu (not to be viewed on an empty stomach).

I was recently inspired by her entry on Kale Chips. I had wanted to experiment with kale, and it had been a while since I’d made sambar, so I decided to try out a kale curry. The experiment was a personal success, and during a recent lunch with The Picky Eater, I mentioned the results.

“If you liked it, send me the recipe,” she responded. That was all the coaxing I needed for the rest of this post.

Ingredients (these measurements are all approximate)

  • 2 bunches of kale (I used lacinato kale)
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp mustard seeds
  • 1/2 tsp urad dhal
  • 1/2 tsp turmeric
  • 1/2 tsp red chili powder
  • salt (to taste)

Directions

  1. Chop the kale into bite-sized, square-shaped pieces
  2. Heat the olive oil in a pan.
  3. Add in mustard seeds and urad dhal.
  4. When the mustard seeds start popping and the urad dhal changes from white to a golden brown, add the kale, turmeric, chili power, and salt.
  5. Stir fry for about five minutes.

The curry goes really well with sambar, but it’s also great by itself.

Leave a Reply

