Never be afraid to get dirty, but be sufficiently sure-footed to avoid the abyss of contamination.

Alice

I once wrote a story about Alice, but a more recent story about her was making its way around the press, and it was one that drew its inspiration from different sources. I would see Alice that evening and finally sort through it all.

There were other things to take care of first. AL and I spent the morning in the Mission on the Precita Eyes walking tour. Following the tour, we got burritos and hung out at Dolores Park. AL asked me for my best and worst personal quality. It turned out they were the same, or at least two sides of the same coin. It turned out that was the point of the exercise. Curiouser and curiouser. I mentioned my plans to see Alice, and AL told me that she had heard some whispers based on the most recent story. Some were talking smack about her, others were more positive. Gossip folk!

I would not be seeing Alice alone. JB had mentioned his interest a few weeks earlier, and he made the trek to the city. Before we went, we had some unfinished business. An hour later, we could be seen leaving the Pinecrest Diner, man-burgers in our stomachs.

It was time to see Alice. However, upon arriving for the rendezvous, we were informed that our eyes alone would be insufficient. Through a looking glass? No, but we were given some shades and warned that they would not protect against ultraviolet light. We took note, walked into a dark room, and put them on. After passing some Minions and Buzz Lightyear, Alice finally appeared. We had a great time, and I don’t care what other people have been saying about her (or Tim Burton, for that matter) recently. She was everything I expected her to be.

Leave a Reply

