Never be afraid to get dirty, but be sufficiently sure-footed to avoid the abyss of contamination.

Manic Euphoria Caused by Sleep Deprivation

Today started early: 5AM. I took the earliest shuttle to work, and met most of my weekly goals before anyone had even walked into the office. I still hadn’t shared The News with everyone, but I figured I would get to the remaining people today. Unfortunately, when information has already disseminated to some, others may scoop your story, and so it happened with me. It led to some embarrassment, but I talked with all but one of the people by lunch, and they were cool about it. In some ways, I felt relieved that I didn’t have to share The News by myself, like a bandage that gets ripped off at once instead of one that’s pulled off slowly.

After lunch, there was only one major goal I had left for the week, and I thought I was on track to finishing it when I sent an e-mail in the early afternoon. Unfortunately, the e-mail appeared to generate some points of contention. I spent the rest of the afternoon trying to craft the perfect response: one that expressed my point of view– refining it by identifying weaknesses in my logic– while remaining open to other points of view. I thought I had it right and sent something off before leaving to catch the shuttle. My officemate sent me an e-mail shortly thereafter to tell me two people were looking for me. It seems my response warranted an in-person meeting. Whether it met or failed in its objective remains to be seen.

It’s been a long day, and I can’t wait to get off this shuttle and sleep, but I’m surprisingly happy. No, happy is the wrong word: euphoric.

Leave a Reply

