Never be afraid to get dirty, but be sufficiently sure-footed to avoid the abyss of contamination.

The Identity

When I got my credit card statement for the month, I noticed a strange charge from a popular security company. I called said security company, and as per their highly secure protocol, they asked me for the credit card number and my name. I gave both.

“That’s not the name associated with this card,” responded the customer service assistant. Apparently, I was not who I said I was.

I looked in the mirror. Funny, I still looked like me. I told the assistant if that wasn’t the name provided, it was almost certainly a fraudulent charge, and I would be contacting my credit card company to cancel the transaction and get a new card so it didn’t happen again.

The security company seemed a bit jolted by this revelation. The assistant told me that they would remove the “recurring” charge for the account and file a charge dispute claim.

“Looking closer, it’s probably from a fraudulent account,” said the assistant. “A normal user wouldn’t charge this many licenses.”

I thanked the assistant and hung up, wondering how my identity could be stolen for a transaction with a security company from a person who doesn’t even know my name.

Leave a Reply

