Never be afraid to get dirty, but be sufficiently sure-footed to avoid the abyss of contamination.

Vampire Weekend

Can you stay up
To see the dawn?
In the colors
Of Benetton?

— from “Cape Cod Kwassa Kwassa”

In my general lameness, I haven’t found a new band to listen to in a couple years. Then I read an article in the New Yorker (because that’s where you go to learn about the hottest bands) that compared Vampire Weekend’s eponymous debut album with Paul Simon’s Graceland. Out of curiosity, I picked up both on my most recent trip to Amoeba.

Graceland is easy to distinguish from Vampire Weekend, but that said, the albums go really well together. If you’re in the mood for Afro-beats, there’s no better option than listening to these Eurasian descendants.

While I am feeling sarcastic this morning, I really do like both of these albums. Decide for yourself.

Leave a Reply

