Never be afraid to get dirty, but be sufficiently sure-footed to avoid the abyss of contamination.

The Checkout

I’m at the checkout of the neighborhood grocery store. I don’t ever want to feeeeeeeeeeeel like I did that day. Come take me to the place I looooooove. As I sign the store’s copy of the receipt, I become conscious of the fact that I’m singing along to the radio. So does the teenage clerk waiting for me to finish.

“Gotta love those 90s songs,” she offers.

“That’s right,” I smile, as I take my groceries and exit. Not long after this incident, I’m at a different a store, signing a different receipt. A different clerk calls me on a different song.

“Do you happen to know the name of this song?” she asks. She seems quite interested in knowing the answer.

“‘Fill Me In’ by Craig David,” I respond with a grin on my face.

“Thanks! I have a new song for my iTunes,” she cheers. “This song has been on the radio for weeks, and it’s so catchy!”

Try nine years. We make some more small talk before I leave, and as I do, I am left wondering why nine years feels like such a short time ago.

2 responses

  1. Rich

    2001: A Space Odyssey.
    Class of ’22 Hall. Fire&Ice.

    Feels like yesterday.

    January 11, 2010 at 3:15 am

  2. K

    Yeah, it does feel like yesterday. 🙂

    January 11, 2010 at 5:16 am

Leave a Reply

