Never be afraid to get dirty, but be sufficiently sure-footed to avoid the abyss of contamination.

Lost in Translation

From Indian English -> American English -> Indian English -> …, this was a conversation between my nephew J and me over IM:

J: HELLO ITS ME J
Me:  hi j!
happy deepavali!
how are you?
J: THANKYOU I BURST ALL MY CRACKERS
Me:  (thinking of the food item) how did you do that?
(realize my blunder just as J responds, but my sentence is vague enough that it doesn’t matter.)
J: NO THERE ARE SOME MORE FLOWER POTS AND CHAKRAS
Me:  how is R (J’s sister)?
J: FINE
Me: (in a futile attempt to be hip) did she burst all her crackers as well?

I say it’s futile because both of them already know I don’t watch Bakugan!

Leave a Reply

