Never be afraid to get dirty, but be sufficiently sure-footed to avoid the abyss of contamination.

The Whistler

It’s time to brush my teeth. I head over to the sink and turn on the faucet. The gurgling noises start up but don’t follow through with actual water. I’m confused. I go to check water in the tub. Nope. What about the kitchen sink? Nope again.

There was no advanced warning, and now I need to get into campus. The only problem is that I cannot walk into the office with halitosis. The symptom is the disease! But if I brush, how will I rinse out the toothpaste in my mouth? I briefly contemplate swallowing the toothpaste down with Tropicana’s Valencia Orange and Mango. I dismiss it almost as instantaneously. Perhaps I can rinse out with the orange and mango juice. That’s even more cruel than swallowing the toothpaste.

The only viable solution is to find water. But where? I don’t want to resort to orange and mango juice solutions, but I am running out of options. I return to the kitchen. It’s there that I notice The Whistler, a gift from JN and AR from a couple years ago. I made tea last night, so there’s a chance The Whistler has some water. Taking The Whistler by the handle, I pour out water into a mug.

After rinsing out the toothpaste, I start whistling.

2 responses

  1. Rich

    If you’re ever really desperate, there’s also The-Appliance-That-Flushes-Everything-Away.

    June 21, 2009 at 1:48 pm

  2. K

    That would have made the tale more interesting because the flush has been a little finicky lately, and the water can’t be trusted. 😉

    June 26, 2009 at 4:57 am

Leave a Reply

