Never be afraid to get dirty, but be sufficiently sure-footed to avoid the abyss of contamination.

East Bay Open Studio 2009

J gave me a disgusted look that suggested he didn’t want those green hands anywhere near the dining room. That was a year ago. Just the other day, he made a stronger statement: “You and I have different tastes when it comes to art.”

The green hands were courtesy of the East Bay Open Studio, which I checked out for the first time last year. One of the places I went to was the home of Toby Kahn, who explained the world of a photographer to me over the course of an hour. He even gave me a demo of how a dark room works, red light and all. This year, his blog has a friendly message:

Once Again I hope you can come join me to look at photographs, chat and perhaps take home a bargain to treasure.

To make navigation easier, Pro Arts has added a map to make navigating the event convenient. It also turns out that the place where I got the green hands will be featuring artists again. Hmm… I wonder what will be avoiding the living room this year.

Leave a Reply

