Never be afraid to get dirty, but be sufficiently sure-footed to avoid the abyss of contamination.

Options

My car needed to go in for maintenance, and while I’d been holding off on it for a while, the mileage had really crept up, and an oil change was due, so my options were limited. I drove into the dealership this morning, and I got the maintenance estimate. Yikes! How am I going to afford that? At least they take credit.

The mechanic told me the work would take a few hours, so I roamed the local area on foot. After scoping out my options (a bunch of auto dealerships, a BART station, and an IHOP), I returned to the dealership. A phone call to my sister was cut short, so I sat down in a lounge area and started on some work. The Price is Right briefly interrupted my productivity, which now featured Drew Carey as its host. Then the phone rang. I answered.

“Hi, may I speak to K?” asked a recognizable voice. I’m feeling lucky.

“This is he,” I replied.

“Hi, K. This is M from the company. I just wanted to share some good news with you. The company has decided to make you an offer, and I want to go over the compensation package with you.” M started going through a bunch of numbers, but I was only half-listening. A gigantic smile was on my face. The belt paid off!

M proceeded, “Now I want to go over stock compensation and stock options with you.” I have options!¬†

I briefly interrupted M to ask about the job itself. I had really enjoyed my meeting with a manager the week earlier and the project he described to me. I asked whether I would get to work on that project, and M told me that while that was on the table, if other groups showed interest in me, I could have my pick among them. More options!

As M continued reciting numbers, the mechanic walked into the lounge. Noticing that I was on the phone, he gestured to me about some optional maintenance, that there would be no labor costs, only the cost of parts. He was quite the gesturer. He pointed at a sheet of paper with the added charges, requesting a thumbs up or thumbs down response. I heard a number on the phone and gave him a big thumbs up.

2 responses

  1. anony

    This ‘read more’ business I don’t like…

    May 30, 2009 at 2:15 pm

  2. julia

    YAY Krish!!!!

    May 31, 2009 at 2:12 am

Leave a Reply

