Never be afraid to get dirty, but be sufficiently sure-footed to avoid the abyss of contamination.

The Jacket

It had been a year, but I recognized AN instantly. She was still wearing the same jacket. Same AN, I thought.

We threw a going away party for AN last year. She had just graduated and had a plan. She and her husband were heading on a trip to Asia followed by one to Europe. After she returned, she would find a job.

AN noticed me. As we greeted each other, two men stopped right next to her.

“So what’s new with you?” I asked.

“Well, I just became a mother,” she said and pointed to the stroller one of the men had been rolling. She introduced me to G, her six week old son. AN explained, “Yeah, I found out I was pregnant just after we returned from Europe.”

We said our goodbyes shortly thereafter and went on our separate ways. As she left, I realized that the jacket was the only thing that hadn’t changed.

Leave a Reply

