Never be afraid to get dirty, but be sufficiently sure-footed to avoid the abyss of contamination.

The Cottage

I received an e-mail today from an old friend:

My Dad just sent me the photos I wanted to send you! …They are just a few
photos from his camera with you in them from when you were at the cottage!

The cottage! What a wonderful vacation. I have two amazing friends in Toronto, and a couple summers ago, I took a trip to visit them. We didn’t stay in Toronto for long: after a couple days, we were at the cottage in Lake Simcoe.

Canoeing on Lake Simcoe

Canoeing on Lake Simcoe

Dowhatyouwant: bike riding, canoeing, reading, sleeping. On the first day, I remember asking P, J’s mom, if we were doing anything for the day. “Do what you want,” she told me. It was a remarkable revelation. Is that what a vacation’s supposed to be?

That day, I played tennis with A, read Theft, took a dip in Lake Simcoe, and followed it up with an egg water bath. That night, J, A, and I went out to see the stars. There were so many: ones I’d never even seen. There were so many that Orion became unrecognizable: too many freckles.

2 responses

  1. julia

    awww yay! This is my favorite post :)!

    Egg water bath! ha! That’s excellent. Only place where you smell worse after you shower!

    March 4, 2009 at 10:18 am

  2. julia

    And i love the picture… we look like such explorers.

    March 4, 2009 at 10:19 am

Leave a Reply

