Never be afraid to get dirty, but be sufficiently sure-footed to avoid the abyss of contamination.

The Hug

I met GP during my first year of grad school. She helped me navigate through the bureaucracy and eased the transition into grad school. A couple years ago, GP and I became neighbors. We would sometimes take the same BART and walk across El Cerrito Plaza together. I would see her with her husband walking their dog.

After a family emergency, GP took last semester off. She returned this semester. When I ran into her in the halls, though, she didn’t seem to want to talk. I considered visiting her office, but I wasn’t sure what the right approach would be.

Last week, an approach was handed to me. Literally. A friend I was visiting had written “Thank You” cards for me to deliver, and one of them was for GP. My first attempt to deliver it to her was on Friday, but she wasn’t around. Someone in her office offered to deliver it, but I said I’d be back.

This morning, I made it into her office. I handed her the card, and we talked for a bit. I asked her how she was. She responded. Before leaving, I wanted to say something, but condolences felt somewhat empty. I decided to say what I felt.

“I missed you.” We hugged.

One response

  1. Rich

    Often it’s not what you say that’s important, but just the fact that you are there in times of need.

    February 23, 2009 at 12:17 pm

Leave a Reply

