Never be afraid to get dirty, but be sufficiently sure-footed to avoid the abyss of contamination.

¿Adónde va usted?

We’re taking the monorail to the BART station. She looks at me. I smile. She asks, “Where do I buy the ticket?”

“Oh, you don’t have to buy them until we get to BART,” I respond.

Her quizzical look and shoulder shrug suggests my answer makes no sense to her. Then I notice the Mexicana tag on her bag. It’s been a while since I’ve carried on such a conversation, so I hesitate before asking, “¿Habla usted español?”

Her huge smile reveals two silver capped front teeth. We start a conversation. ¿Adónde va usted? A 24 y Mission. She asks for help in purchasing the ticket. It makes all those years of Spanish worth it.

One response

  1. anony

    certainly does…

    February 13, 2009 at 4:39 am

Leave a Reply

