Never be afraid to get dirty, but be sufficiently sure-footed to avoid the abyss of contamination.

Banter in Bangalore

Three days of banter in Bangalore. Three days with the king of it. Back and forth, like a tennis match. Nadal-Federer in the finals of the Australian Open. Will this rally never end?

A flight back home. Rest for a week. Then I serve:

Hey MP,

I’m back in Berkeley, and unfortunately there’s no MG road here, so I have to do work. That’s somewhat unfortunate.

I had a great time with you in Bangalore. How is the hotel coming along? Hope all is well.

K

It’s far from an ace. A powerful return arrives in my inbox:

Dear K,
 
MG Road is the world. Berkeley is not the world. The realisation has come to you only now. Better late than never as they say. In the real world people do not work. They roam around MG Road, Commercial Street etc. In Universities people work. So good luck to you as I enjoy my stay in Bangalore.

MP

An aging Federer is looking to tie Sampras’s record. I’m rooting for Nadal.

Leave a Reply

