Never be afraid to get dirty, but be sufficiently sure-footed to avoid the abyss of contamination.

Crossing Ponds and Greener Grass

The flight from SFO to Shanghai has some surprisingly good Indian food.

The flight from Mumbai to Chennai has some surprisingly good pizza.

Last month in Fremont, my cousin-brother’s daughters were watching a movie on their computer. When I asked them what it was, they stared at me. Uncool. They then responded in unison, “It’s My Friend Ganesha 2!” After it was over, they started watching Roadside Romeo.

This week in Chennai, my cousin-sister’s children were describing their favorite cartoons. “You watch Bakugan, right?” When I shook my head, they stared at me. Uncool. “It’s on the Cartoon Network!” They went on to describe their favorite shows on the Disney Channel and Nickelodeon.

I’ve long been a fan of Maggi Tomato Sauce and was happy to find it in one of Berkeley’s Indian stores a few months ago. The red sauce has a wonderful ketchup-like consistency, and we’d often have it with vada on trips to India.

When the red sauce was served with vada yesterday, the nostalgia had a Pavlovian effect. I dipped the vada into the sauce and took a bite. Strange, I thought. This tastes like ketchup. Then I noticed the bottle: Heinz.

One response

  1. Pingback: Lost in Translation « Dirty Hands

Leave a Reply

