Never be afraid to get dirty, but be sufficiently sure-footed to avoid the abyss of contamination.

The Secret Life of Bees

Due to a last minute change of plans, I ended up with a few extra hours this evening. While my initial goal was to use the time to get some work done, a friend suggested I do something fun. My brain was consumed by some election that’s supposed to take place tomorrow, and I realized quickly that it would be a futile effort to try and get work done. As I entered the bus to head home, I wondered what I might do.

The bus left me at the top of Solano. As I walked past Oak Theatre, I noticed that The Secret Life of Bees was playing. Back in the apartment, I asked J, who also had some free time, if he wanted to see it. It didn’t take much convincing, and we soon found ourselves in the theatre.

After the movie ended, I walked into Pegasus to find the novel by Sue Monk Kidd. As I skimmed the pages, I noticed familiar lines and changes to the plot. At one point I passed by my favorite quote from the movie, which seemed different in the book. Here’s the one I remembered from the movie:

I guess I have forgiven [myself], although sometimes in the night my dreams will take me back to the sadness, and I have to wake up and forgive [myself] again.

Leave a Reply

