Never be afraid to get dirty, but be sufficiently sure-footed to avoid the abyss of contamination.

Improvise

An old proverb reads as follows:

The bad carpenter blames his tools.

I needed to generate plots on MATLAB. To run MATLAB, I need an Internet connection. My hotel room in Toronto didn’t have free Internet access. The connection in the lobby was too unreliable to support MATLAB, so I had to improvise. Thankfully, I had some backup plots, so the Internet connection was unnecessary.

A guitar typically has six strings. I bought my guitar at the 5th String, but it had the usual six strings. My sister’s guitar only has five strings, so I had to improvise. Thankfully, I’m not particularly adept at the guitar, so the missing string was unnecessary.

The airline misplaced my luggage. My toothbrush was in there. There were extra toothbrushes somewhere, but everyone had fallen asleep. I couldn’t manage to find them, so I had to improvise. Thankfully, I’d just washed my hands, so a toothbrush was unnecessary.

Okay, I’m not so sure about the last one. My fingers were a poor substitute, and I’m glad to have my luggage back.

2 responses

  1. Rich

    I suppose that’s better improvisation than using someone else’s toothbrush!

    July 17, 2008 at 5:06 pm

  2. Mama Bean

    when in doubt, CHECK THE CABINETS IN THE BATHROOM. that’s generally where toothbrushes live.

    July 20, 2008 at 8:12 pm

Leave a Reply

