Never be afraid to get dirty, but be sufficiently sure-footed to avoid the abyss of contamination.

I’m an Artist (Shoutouts)

I’ve been taking drawing classes at the ASUC Art Studio, but I’ll avoid making a pun about perspective and just say that it’s changed the way I see things.

For instance, Eugene recently introduced me to Time’s Photo Essays. When I saw the following photo from the When I’m Cleaning Windows gallery, it reminded me of a lesson we had about negative space.


While a docent at the De Young led Neelam and me to some tromp l’oelle paintings a while back, and a tour guide at Wilson Castle did the same more recently on a family vacation, I didn’t start thinking about how one might create such pictures until Sandhya sent me a link to these chalkings a few minutes ago.

I’m tempted to say, “I’m an artist,” but that just reminds me of the Tom Shillue song I heard with my parents while watching Comedy Central some years ago. Unfortunately, it’s no longer on YouTube, but it is available through this link.

3 responses

  1. Kush

    Inverse perspective transformation is all well and good, but I’m glad that 3-D signs painted on fields have not caught on in American sports yet because they bother me a lot.

    October 19, 2007 at 9:34 pm

  2. Krish

    That reminds me of a Futurama quote:

    Leela: Didn’t you have ads in the 21st century?
    Fry: Well sure, but not in our dreams. Only on TV and radio, and in magazines, and movies, and at ball games… and on buses and milk cartons and t-shirts, and bananas and written on the sky. But not in dreams, no siree.

    October 19, 2007 at 10:31 pm

  3. Neelam

    That Times photo essay, and the pic you included here, are the coolness.

    October 20, 2007 at 4:39 am

Leave a Reply

