Never be afraid to get dirty, but be sufficiently sure-footed to avoid the abyss of contamination.

Mic check

The year is 1984. The president is testing his microphone before a radio address, and says, “My fellow Americans, I am pleased to tell you I just signed legislation which outlaws Russia forever. The bombing begins in five minutes.” What he doesn’t realize is that he’s already on the air.

Oddly enough, Reagan’s mic check showed up as the iGoogle Quote of Day. I laughed when I read it, but I was curious to see how others might react to it. Fortunately, I discovered comments on RateItAll.com. While in no way representative, some of them are pretty interesting. One person couldn’t be happier about it.

A great line from a great president!

Another was visibly offended and made a claim I was unable to corroborate.

The USSR scrambled it’s (sic) bombers and put their (sic) missle silo’s (sic) on alert. The leader of the free world should have more sense than to joke about something like this.

One was somewhere in between.

I didn’t care much for the guy, but this was pretty funny.

There was one who saw it as an outlet for a political rant.

Liberals around the world lost credibility for subsequent outrages because their paranoia showed and was roundly discredited and mocked.

Among the lot, this was my favorite.

I know I was supposed to be appalled, but I actually thought this was pretty funny, but then I do have a morbid sense of humor.

Leave a Reply

