Never be afraid to get dirty, but be sufficiently sure-footed to avoid the abyss of contamination.

Sometimes You Wanna Go

When I was five, my parents used to be big fans of Cheers. While the show started right at my bed time, I would ask my parents for special permission to listen to the theme song before sleeping. The chorus contains the memorable lines:

Sometimes you want to go
Where everybody knows your name,
and they’re always glad you came.
You wanna be where you can see,
our troubles are all the same
You wanna be where everybody knows
Your name.

The sitcom Cheers is based in Boston, where I’ve been for just over a week. I spent the first week at my sister and brother-in-law’s place, where everybody knew my name. While we didn’t sing the Cheers theme song, we did exchange many other childhood favorites. For instance, my sister started singing a commercial for Yogi Bear cartoons on Nickelodeon. Hearing her sing it, I realized it was to the tune of Hava Nagila, which went:

Yogi and Boo Boo
Yogi and Boo Boo
Yogi and Boo Boo
Weekdays on Nick.

Yogi’s a big galoot.
Boo boo is awful cute.

Together they spend their days
Searching for food.

Cake, pies,
Cake, pies, chickens, pies!

When she mentioned it, I immediately thought back to another song in Nickelodeon’s ad for Looney Tunes, set to Eine kleine Nachtmusik and available on You Tube. Perhaps unsurspringly, during dinner Friday a childhood friend commented that Sandhya and I probably knew every random song there was between the two of us.

While I had dinner with a college friend the following evening, I spent the weekend with surprisingly few people who knew my name. The music reminiscing continued, though, and within ten minutes of talking to my subletter, I found out he had spent the previous day recalling theme songs for shows like Go Bots and Duck Tales.

After reading the weather forecast, I resolved to explore the city this afternoon. After a quick discussion with my college roommate about places to see, I took a walk around downtown Boston. At one point was just a couple blocks away from one of the Cheers bars. While I wasn’t walking with anyone who knew my name, I did hum a tune or two.

6 responses

  1. Sandhya

    great. now the cheers theme song is stuck in my head.

    May 29, 2007 at 11:59 pm

  2. Neelam

    Ditto! Thanks a lot, Krish!

    May 30, 2007 at 1:01 am

  3. Krish

    Don’t expect me to feel guilty. It’s a good song!

    May 30, 2007 at 1:17 am

  4. Who else

    Taking a Break from All Your Worries

    May 30, 2007 at 6:25 am

  5. you forgot the second verse

    Yogi and boo
    have nothing to do but
    get into trouble
    weekdays on Nick.

    February 5, 2012 at 12:34 am

    • K

      Yes, that’s a good point.

      October 31, 2013 at 7:53 am

Leave a Reply

