Never be afraid to get dirty, but be sufficiently sure-footed to avoid the abyss of contamination.

Sage, Rosemary, and Thyme

While channel surfing last weekend, I happened upon a marathon for a show on the Food Network. I had never seen it before, but Everyday Italian, hosted by Giada De Laurentiis, ended up being what I watched for the next couple hours. In one of the episodes, Giada mentioned that using fresh Italian herbs made for better flavor than the dried variety I normally use.

On a whim, I bought sage, rosemary, and thyme along with the usual basil (not parsley) for a sauce I was going to make with my pasta. What I didn’t realize was that sage, rosemary, and thyme are sold in quantities much larger than what I would need. When I realized this and the fact that I would not make any more Italian food this weekend, I ended up increasing the amount of these herbs significantly, recognizing that this may impact the flavor I wanted. The result was what might be described as a disaster. The flavor is a little too strong, and I can barely detect the basil. I also have leftovers to last a few meals. I also have plenty of leftover herbs.

Sometimes values come into conflict, and it can be tempting to relax them for the sake of compromise. However, if one is not careful, the result might be that these values are sacrificed with no apparent gain.

One response

  1. Sandhya

    my vote is: figure out how to dry the rest of the herbs and use them sparingly next time. as for your leftovers, maybe sprinkle some cheese and add some more basil and try to drown out the excess stuff?

    January 20, 2007 at 1:44 am

Leave a Reply

