Never be afraid to get dirty, but be sufficiently sure-footed to avoid the abyss of contamination.

In the Mood

Well before I learned how to play it or even knew it was a piece composed by Glen Miller, I heard “In the Mood” in an animated short that followed some feature length animation on The Wonderful World of Disney. That was about eighteen years ago. In the short, a park ranger is trying to convince animals in the park to clean up the litter left there. Failing on most of them, he tries to make a bear think that picking up litter can be fun. To the tune of Glen Miller’s song, the park ranger sings:

Pick the paper up.
Put it in the bag.
Bup, bup.
That’s the way it’s done.
It’s a lot of fun.
Bup, bup.
That’s the way we
Put the papers in the bag.

While I had a lot of work to do today, when Bobak told me he had an extra ticket to see Canadian Brass at Zellerbach, I couldn’t turn it down. I wasn’t in the mood to start my work, anyway. Their performance was great. The quintet had a great sense of humor and performed a great selection of music, including several Christmas and Chanukah songs. It reminded me of elementary school. They even had a Glen Miller medley, which included “In the Mood.”

Despite the detour from work, when I got back home, I didn’t see a need to procrastinate any further. The concert put me in the mood to get my work done, and while it’s taken me until 4 AM, I have now finished the requirements for one of my courses this semester.

Bup, bup.

3 responses

  1. Neelam

    Hee hee. I don’t remember what “In the Mood” sounds like. Can you think of any links?

    December 6, 2006 at 10:57 pm

  2. Krish

    IMDb lists the short, which is called “In the Bag,” but credits the music to George Bruns. If “In the Bag” doesn’t share the same tune as “In the Mood,” I am still sure they would harmonize well. In fact, if one sings the “In the Bag” song over the right portion of “In the Mood,” it sounds pretty good.

    December 7, 2006 at 9:39 pm

  3. Sandhya

    WOW. i TOTALLY remember that song. not the original, but the one with putting papers in the bag. i can even visualize the guy and the bear using that pointy sticky thing to stab papers and put them in.

    bup bup indeed.

    December 8, 2006 at 1:45 pm

Leave a Reply

