Never be afraid to get dirty, but be sufficiently sure-footed to avoid the abyss of contamination.

Sister

Last week was the first time I had seen my sister since her wedding. It was a new experience to see her and Alex in holy matrimony. The life they described during my mother’s birthday dinner sounded idyllic. I was happy for them.

Since Sandhya and Alex work with children, we were also regaled by stories of the various kids they see on a regular basis. The stories caused our mom to remember long-forgotten stories of Sandhya and me during Thanksgiving dinner. While I remember how much fun we had growing up, one of her stories reflected how fond I was of Sandhya from before I could remember.

Well before my sister could walk, my parents told me that they were going to take me to a movie. My first question was, “Can Sandhya come with us?” In fact, I went to ask her myself. My sister wasn’t verbal at the time, but like the show Rugrats, I must have thought we could communicate.

What I didn’t realize was that Sandhya was in her “boxing” phase. That is, her hands would move as if punching an invisible opponent in the air. Walking up to her, I asked, “Sandhya, shall we go see a movie this afternoon?” WAAM! Right in the face. As if to assume a cause-effect relationship for what had just happened, I went crying back to my mom, “All I did was ask her if she wanted to see the movie!”

Sandhya, you’re one tough cookie, and I love you. Alex, you’re a great guy, too, and seeing the two of you together fills me with much happiness.

2 responses

  1. Sandhya

    that was really sweet! 🙂 thanks! we had an awesome time down there & we’re looking forward to your trip up here. hey, if there’s anything specific you want to make sure to check out in the boston area, let me know.

    in strange news, i don’t have a blogger account that i’m aware of, but underneath the comment space where it says “choose an identity,” one of the choices is “Sandhya (Your Blogger display name.” how the heck does it know who i am?? creepy.

    November 30, 2006 at 2:29 am

  2. Krish

    Yeah, all you need is a Gmail account now.

    November 30, 2006 at 4:49 am

Leave a Reply

