Never be afraid to get dirty, but be sufficiently sure-footed to avoid the abyss of contamination.

The Thought that Counts

My sister just arrived with her husband and was glad to see I had found our Authoritative Calvin and Hobbes collection. While she had two copies at her apartment, she pointed me to a unique feature of ours. There was a letter from Herb to Cindy on the inside jacket of our copy.

Who are Cindy and Herb? I don’t know, but we must have purchased the book at Cindy’s garage sale. Reading Herb’s letter raises some interesting questions. Were Herb and Cindy in a relationship? If they were, what would have possessed Cindy to sell the copy? Was Herb merely one of Cindy’s many suitors, one who failed to win her heart? Or was Herb just being a thoughtful friend on the Christmas of 1990? Rather than speculate, here is Herb’s letter to Cindy, dated December of 1990. The punctuation and spelling have been preserved.

Dear Cindy,

Merry Christmas! I wasn’t sure what to get you this year. After all, what do you buy for the girl who has everything… diamonds?, furs?, a Maserati?, a partridge in a pear tree? I wanted to get you something that you would use, would make you laugh, and most importantly something that would cheer you up after a hard day’s work… I hope you enjoy it!

Love always,
Herb

P.S. I think you’re really, really swell.

Herb, maybe the partridge in a pear tree would have gone over better with Cindy, but thanks for a book that brought my sister and me so much laughter growing up.

P.S. I think you’re really, really swell.

One response

  1. Pingback: Conversations with Myself « Dirty Hands

Leave a Reply

