Never be afraid to get dirty, but be sufficiently sure-footed to avoid the abyss of contamination.

Elias

I’m meeting up with other PARC alums on Friday. One of them is my former officemate. She was a big fan of Dispatch and used to listen to their music at work. Soon enough, I learned the lyrics to songs like “The General” and turned into a fan. Among their songs, “Elias” is one of my favorites. The song is about a father whose hard work allows his sons to have a better life than he did. Part of the lyrics are in a language I didn’t recognize. Luckily, Google did, and I frequently exchanged the translated greeting with my officemate after looking it up. What was the greeting?

Person A: Are you strong?

Person B: I am strong if you are strong.

Person A: I am strong.

Here’s to the people who make me strong.

One response

  1. Pingback: Words from Africa « Dirty Hands

Leave a Reply

