Never be afraid to get dirty, but be sufficiently sure-footed to avoid the abyss of contamination.

I Don’t Get It

When I first read the headline, I thought it was a joke. I had never read an article from the Irish Examiner, and I just figured it was Google’s news feed mistaking satire for legitimate news. Jonathan Swift’s “A Modest Proposal” came to mind. Then I read the article, and sure enough, other sources corroborate the information.

When something terrible happens, people often go to elaborate means to prevent a similar horror from recurring, even if the likelihood of a recurrence is small. I wonder if the Amish community in question will change how it goes about its daily life. Sure, there may be a funeral, but will the way students go to school change? I would be surprised if they installed metal detectors. It goes against their principles. Incidents like this are so rare that it would probably be an unwise investment regardless.

Is preparing to be surprised an oxymoron? Sometimes K just doesn’t get it.

One response

  1. Krish

    This article describes the Amish response to the tragedy.

    October 5, 2006 at 11:47 pm

Leave a Reply

