Never be afraid to get dirty, but be sufficiently sure-footed to avoid the abyss of contamination.

Confederacy of Dunces

I am in the process of forming a committee that will determine whether my thesis proposal has academic merit and give me feedback. Ignatius J. Reilly could never subject himself to such peer review. John Kennedy Toole’s novel follows Ignatius on his downward career path, from the writer with a Master’s degree to Levy Pants employee to hot dog peddler. Ignatius finds comfort in the fact that no one around him can understand the depth of his thoughts or even what he says. He chooses to thumb his nose at these people that offend his sense of “theology and geometry.”

A false sense of superiority can certainly feel good. At the same time, feeling comfortable sharing one’s ideas with those whose opinions matter to us can help refine said ideas. I used to be afraid that the people I respected would find my ideas feeble. However, the benefit of their input has not only improved my ideas, but the discussions gave me a different perspective on the problems I was considering.

On a related note, there is now a link to this blog on my Facebook profile. If you didn’t know, now you know.

2 responses

  1. Rich

    I can’t find said link..

    September 26, 2006 at 1:28 pm

  2. Krish

    Look harder.

    September 27, 2006 at 4:52 am

Leave a Reply

