Never be afraid to get dirty, but be sufficiently sure-footed to avoid the abyss of contamination.

Four Movies

This post is dedicated to Nina Simone and four of her creations: Aunt Sara, Safronia, Sweet Thing, and Peaches.

Life was carefree before I was taken from home at a young age and groomed for success. It brought me a life of luxury and wealth that I could not have imagined. The price was my childhood. I realized this on my death bed, and my last words confounded reporters. What did I tell them? “Rosebud.”

I am an American war hero. My father was an Italian immigrant. He created our influential family business from scratch. I tried to follow my own path in life, but circumstances drew me into his world. I once told my girlfriend that I did not want to be a man like my father. Now my wife, she asks me about what I do. What do I tell her? “Don’t ask me about my business.”

I thought I had seen the horrors of Vietnam until the army called me back to terminate the command of a renegade Green Beret. My boat went into the heart of darkness before I came face to face with him. He scoffed at the idea that I might be his assassin. He called me “an errand boy sent by grocery clerks to collect the bill.” I may have killed him, but he had the last word. What did he tell me? “The horror, the horror.”

I just got married, and my pacifist wife and I are about to head out on our honeymoon. I love her, but a man I put in jail is out on parole, and I am bound by duty to face him today at noon. She is forcing me to choose between love and duty. What do I tell her? “Do not forsake me oh my darling … Until I shoot Frank Miller dead.”

2 responses

  1. Neelam

    Easy as pie, except for the last one.

    I’ll start off with Number #1. My name is Citizen Kane.

    September 23, 2006 at 11:03 pm

  2. Krish

    One down… three to go.

    September 23, 2006 at 11:29 pm

Leave a Reply

