Never be afraid to get dirty, but be sufficiently sure-footed to avoid the abyss of contamination.

Parallel

My parents are still asleep, but cartoons are coming on in an hour, so I’m going to wake up my younger sister. Maybe I’ll draw while waiting for the cartoons.

Those thoughts went through my mind several times growing up, but it could just as easily have gone through the mind of my cousin’s six-year-old daughter this morning. It’s surprising to see the parallels between our lives. When I was her age, my mother would often have her cousins visit us for brief periods, and my sister and I would get a new playmate. Speaking of which, one of her cousins sent me his student’s thesis to look over, so I’m going to get to it. I wouldn’t be surprised if there’s another parallel lurking here.

Leave a Reply

