Never be afraid to get dirty, but be sufficiently sure-footed to avoid the abyss of contamination.

Shooting

During lunch, Igor called to tell me his ammo finally came in. Igor has taken me shooting with him before. One of his guns is a World War II era Soviet infantry rifle, the kind Jude Law’s character uses in Enemy at the Gates. We practiced shooting water filled soda bottles, and the experience taught me that aiming these rifles was a lot more difficult than Hollywood would have one believe. Practice helped, and by the time we left, I managed to catapault some of the bottles several feet in the air. The next day, I had a bruise near my right shoulder from the recoil. It gave me a newfound respect for soldiers and how they must have felt with this as their only protection in sub zero temperatures.

I am lucky to have friends with diverse interests. A few weeks ago, Bobak gave me a photography lesson at Twin Peaks. It was a great setting to learn how aperture and shutter speed affect lighting since it was night, and we were far enough from our scenes of interest that focus was no issue. Bobak’s weapon of choice was a digital SLR camera, which didn’t take me long to learn how to operate. We shot a lot of photos, but this is the one I liked the best.

Posted by Picasa

One response

  1. Igor

    While it is possible to combine marksmanship with photography, it is more acceptable to take pictures of rifles that to shoot cameras.

    August 31, 2006 at 6:31 am

Leave a Reply

